The Chaos of Now (Hardcover)

The Chaos of Now Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-3 Days

Description


From the author of Butter comes an emotional coming-of-age novel about teen coder who gets roped into a dangerous hack, perfect for fans of John Corey Whaley and Adam Silvera.

Eli is coasting through high school, spending most of his time writing code. Each day is as boring as the next--until he receives a cryptic message in binary code, leading him to Seth and Mouse. They're seeking a third member for a prestigious hacking competition, after their teammate and friend Jordan committed suicide last year. Intrigued by the challenge, Eli agrees.

But soon it becomes clear that Seth and Mouse are after more than winning a competition--they're seeking revenge for the abuse that caused Jordan's suicide. Eli is in way over his head, but he's also hiding a dangerous secret that could lead to even more trouble if he isn't careful. In a story about the shift of power from those who rule at school to those who rule online, the difference between bully and victim is blurred and Eli--whose coding skilled have taught him to make order out of chaos--will find the real world is much harder to control.

About the Author


Erin Jade Lange writes facts by day and fiction by night. As a journalist, she is inspired by current events and real-world issues and uses her writing to explore how those issues impact teenagers. She is an only child, which means she spent a lot of time entertaining herself as a kid. This required her to rely heavily on her own imagination, which is probably why she became a writer. Erin lives in Phoenix, Arizona. Butter is her debut novel.
www.butterslastmeal.com

Praise For…


“The morally complex story avoids simple answers and is taut with tension . . . Provocative, timely, and intense.” —Starred review, Kirkus Reviews

“Lange finds a fresh perspective on bullying by focusing on all those left behind in the aftermath of the violence that ensues--the bullies and the bystanders.” —School Library Journal

“Lange's tightly plotted, fast-moving mystery shows great understanding of the power dynamics of social cliques. . . . Young coders will be thrilled to see themselves portrayed in a strong and positive light beyond the usual stereotypes.” —Booklist

“Shows a different perspective on cyber bullying than most stories portray.” —School Library Connection

“A new contemporary thriller that's part Breakfast Club, part Breaking Bad . . . Lange's story is gripping . . . Well paced, with twists and turns that will take readers by surprise.” —Booklist on REBEL, BULLY, GEEK, PARIAH

“Give this to readers who enjoy action-packed crime dramas spiced with a little danger and a healthy dash of heart.” —BCCB on REBEL, BULLY, GEEK, PARIAH

“Lange keeps tension high as the situation quickly escalates from bad to worse . . . a fast-paced read with a gripping blend of suspense and emotion.” —Publishers Weekly on REBEL, BULLY, GEEK, PARIAH

“Lange keeps the plot twisting . . . As in her debut novel, Lange deftly blends big issues (bullying, special needs, abuse) into a story of two imperfect, memorable characters.” —Booklist on DEAD ENDS

“Lange weaves a beautiful and believable tale of friendship for readers of any age who can appreciate the challenges of everyday life.” —Library Media Connection on DEAD ENDS

“Using current, hot-button topics--cyberbullying, obesity, and teen suicide--the author weaves a compelling tale sure to draw teens in.” —Starred review, SLJ on BUTTER

Product Details
ISBN: 9781619635029
ISBN-10: 161963502X
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Publication Date: October 2nd, 2018
Pages: 352
Language: English